Professor Larry Gragg talks to a group of students during a recent lecture.

About Our Department

Our history and political science department’s 11 faculty members are active around campus, are accessible to students, and sometimes offer opportunities for students to be involved in their research. 

These scholars regularly publish acclaimed history books covering a wide-range of subjects, from Las Vegas in pop culture to Missouri’s German-American community during World War I to the politics of everyday life in Vichy, France.

Faculty member John McManus is considered one of the most prolific history authors in the country, publishing 11 books since 2000. In 2007, he was named one of “America’s Top Young Historians” by the History News Network.  He became the first humanities/social science professor at Missouri S&T ever to be named a Curators' Professor.  

Professor Larry Gragg is an accomplished author in his own right. Gragg received the Curators’ Award for Scholarly Excellence from the University of Missouri System in 2009 for his publication The Quaker Community on Barbados: Challenging the Culture of the Planter Class.  Gragg has also been the recipient of 11 Outstanding Teaching awards while at S&T, four Faculty Excellence awards, and the Missouri Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Overall, the department enjoys a long-established reputation of excellence in teaching and research. Three faculty members have been named Curators' Teaching Professors, three have received the Missouri Governor's Award for Excellence in Teaching, two have received the Presidential Award for Outstanding Teaching, which is awarded annually to one faculty member in the University of Missouri System, and two have received the Thomas Jefferson Award, which is awarded annually to one faculty member in the University of Missouri System for distinguished research, teaching and service.